Hospital financial assistance in Maine
Maine law requires hospitals to reduce or write off bills for patients whose household income falls below set levels. This is usually called charity care. Below 200% of the Federal Poverty Level the bill must be written off in full. Brightbill tracks 31 Maine hospitals and shows the statute behind every answer.
Free and anonymous: no account, no sign-in, no bill number.
Free-care income limits in Maine (2026 guidelines)
Annual household income at 200% of the Federal Poverty Level: at or below these figures, Maine law requires the bill to be written off in full.
- Household of 1
- $31,920
- Household of 2
- $43,280
- Household of 3
- $54,640
- Household of 4
- $66,000
- Household of 5
- $77,360
- Household of 6+
- $88,720
Discounts and payment protections continue above this level, up to 400% of the Federal Poverty Level.
Hospitals in Maine
Up to 200% of the Federal Poverty Level
Bill written off in full
Applies to all Maine-licensed hospitals, no ownership-type or rural carve-out.
22 M.R.S. §1716-A(2)
200%–400% of the Federal Poverty Level
Monthly payments capped at 4% of monthly household income
Maine law does not set a discount percentage between 200% and 400% FPL, only a payment-plan affordability protection: monthly payments cannot exceed 4% of monthly household income. The full bill may still be owed, but payments must be capped at this level.
22 M.R.S. §1716-A(8)
What Maine nonprofit hospitals reported to the IRS
Nonprofit hospitals that file IRS Form 990 report their financial assistance policy every year on Schedule H. These are the income limits each one reported in its most recent filing, as a percentage of the Federal Poverty Level. Where Maine law sets a higher limit, the law applies. Policies can change after a filing, so the hospital's current written policy decides.
| Hospital | Free care up to | Discounted care up to | Asset test | Presumptive eligibility | Tax year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bridgton HospitalBridgton | 200% | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Calais Community HospitalCalais | 150% | 200% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Central Maine Medical CenterLewiston | 200% | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Down East Community HospitalMachias | 150% | 200% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Mainehealth Pen Bay HospitalRockport | 200% | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Mainehealth Stephens HospitalNorway | 200% | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Mainehealth Waldo HospitalBelfast | 200% | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Millinocket Regional HospitalMillinocket | 150% | 200% | Yes | Yes | 2023 |
| Mount Desert Island HospitalBar Harbor | 150% | 250% | Yes | Not stated | 2024 |
| Northern Light A R Gould HospitalPresque Isle | 150% | 250% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Northern Light Blue Hill Memorial HospitalBlue Hill | 150% | 250% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Northern Light C A Dean HospitalGreenville | 150% | 250% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Northern Light Eastern Maine Medical CenterBangor | 150% | 250% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Northern Light Maine Coast HospitalEllsworth | 150% | 250% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Northern Light Mayo HospitalDover Foxcroft | 150% | 250% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Northern Light Sebasticook Valley HospitalPittsfield | 150% | 250% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Northern Maine Medical CenterFort Kent | 150% | 200% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Penobscot Valley HospitalLincoln | 150% | 225% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Rumford HospitalRumford | 200% | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| St Mary'S Regional Medical CenterLewiston | 200% | 400% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| York HospitalYork | 200% | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
Source: IRS Form 990 Schedule H, Part V, from the IRS e-file data, most recent filing since 2022 for each hospital. "Presumptive eligibility" means the hospital reported deciding eligibility for some patients without an application before starting collection actions. "Not stated" means the filing gave no figure or left the box unchecked.
Maine hospitals covered in detail
23 Maine hospitals with their own page.
- Bridgton Hospital, Bridgton
- Calais Community Hospital, Calais
- Cary Medical Center, Caribou
- Central Maine Medical Center, Lewiston
- Down East Community Hospital, Machias
- Mainehealth Pen Bay Hospital, Rockport
- Mainehealth Stephens Hospital, Norway
- Mainehealth Waldo Hospital, Belfast
- Millinocket Regional Hospital, Millinocket
- Mount Desert Island Hospital, Bar Harbor
- Northern Light A R Gould Hospital, Presque Isle
- Northern Light Blue Hill Memorial Hospital, Blue Hill
- Northern Light C A Dean Hospital, Greenville
- Northern Light Eastern Maine Medical Center, Bangor
- Northern Light Maine Coast Hospital, Ellsworth
- Northern Light Mayo Hospital, Dover Foxcroft
- Northern Light Mercy Hospital, Portland
- Northern Light Sebasticook Valley Hospital, Pittsfield
- Northern Maine Medical Center, Fort Kent
- Penobscot Valley Hospital, Lincoln
- Rumford Hospital, Rumford
- St Mary'S Regional Medical Center, Lewiston
- York Hospital, York
Every other Maine hospital is in the checker too, including hospitals in Augusta, Bangor, Bar Harbor, Belfast, Blue Hill, Bridgton, Brunswick, Calais.
If a Maine hospital does not follow the law
Maine complaints are handled by Maine DHHS, Division of Licensing and Certification. Brightbill will soon prepare that complaint for you, free.
Common questions
Who qualifies for free hospital care in Maine?
Under 22 M.R.S. §1716-A, a household with income up to 200% of the Federal Poverty Level qualifies to have the bill written off in full. Using the 2026 federal poverty guidelines, that is about $31,920 a year for a household of one and about $66,000 a year for a household of four.
What if my income is above the free-care limit in Maine?
Maine rules still reach higher incomes. 200%–400% of the Federal Poverty Level: monthly payments capped at 4% of monthly household income. The protections run up to 400% of the Federal Poverty Level.
Which Maine hospitals have to offer financial assistance?
Brightbill tracks 31 hospitals in Maine. The Maine rule applies to hospitals in the state, and nonprofit hospitals nationwide must also have a written financial assistance policy to keep their federal tax exemption.
Is the Maine eligibility check free?
Yes. The Brightbill eligibility check is free and anonymous. It needs no account and no sign-in, and never asks for your name, hospital records, bill number or contact details. Coming soon: Brightbill will do it for you, free: the financial assistance application to the hospital and any surprise bill dispute, followed through to the answer. Leave your email after your check and we'll tell you when it opens.
Can I still apply after my Maine bill has gone to collections?
Often yes. Many state charity-care laws let you apply after the bill is issued, and applying can pause collection activity or lead to a refund if you already paid more than the law allows. The exact window is set by 22 M.R.S. §1716-A, and Maine DHHS, Division of Licensing and Certification handles complaints when a hospital does not follow it.
Does the No Surprises Act protect me in Maine?
Yes. The federal No Surprises Act applies in every state, including Maine. If you have health insurance, it protects you from surprise out-of-network bills for emergency care, for care from out-of-network doctors at an in-network hospital or surgery center (unless you signed a valid consent for certain non-emergency care), and for air ambulance flights: you owe only your in-network share. If you are uninsured or paying yourself, you can ask for a written Good Faith Estimate before scheduled care, and if the final bill is at least $400 more than that estimate you can dispute it through the federal process within 120 days of the bill. Brightbill's free check covers both charity care and these protections.
Can Brightbill send the letters for me?
Soon. Brightbill's full service opens soon, and it will be free. When it opens: Brightbill applies to the hospital for financial assistance, follows up, reads the reply and checks the decision against the law and the hospital's own policy. For a surprise bill or a bill above your Good Faith Estimate, it walks you through the government dispute form step by step, writes any letter your case needs, sends it with your approval and tracks the deadlines. It sends by email first. If an office only accepts mail, Brightbill mails it at no cost (the application and one follow-up for each provider). For charity care, you check and sign once and Brightbill sends the application, follows up and asks you before any appeal or complaint. For a surprise bill, you approve each letter before it is sent. Letters go from a secure case address, so the reply comes back to you and into your case. The free check stays free and anonymous.
Does Brightbill give legal advice about Maine hospital bills?
No. Brightbill is an eligibility estimate to act on, not legal advice, and it is not affiliated with any hospital. It shows the statute behind every result so you can check it yourself; the hospital's financial assistance office makes the final decision.
Takes about two minutes.
Legal basis: 22 M.R.S. §1716-A requires Maine hospitals to offer charity care and discount payment to eligible patients.
This is an estimate, not legal advice. Each hospital's financial assistance office makes the final decision. Terms · Health Data Privacy Policy.