Hospital financial assistance in Massachusetts
Massachusetts law requires acute care hospitals to reduce or write off bills for patients whose household income falls below set levels. This is usually called charity care. Below 150% of the Federal Poverty Level the bill must be written off in full. Brightbill tracks 62 Massachusetts hospitals and shows the statute behind every answer.
Free and anonymous: no account, no sign-in, no bill number.
Free-care income limits in Massachusetts (2026 guidelines)
Annual household income at 150% of the Federal Poverty Level: at or below these figures, Massachusetts law requires the bill to be written off in full.
- Household of 1
- $23,940
- Household of 2
- $32,460
- Household of 3
- $40,980
- Household of 4
- $49,500
- Household of 5
- $58,020
- Household of 6+
- $66,540
Discounts and payment protections continue above this level, up to 605% of the Federal Poverty Level.
Acute care hospitals in Massachusetts
Up to 150% of the Federal Poverty Level
Bill written off in full
Health Safety Net - Full. Applies to MassHealth-licensed acute (med-surg/peds/ob) hospitals and Section 330 community health centers.
101 CMR 613.04
Up to 205% of the Federal Poverty Level
Hardship route: bills above 10% of household income
Medical Hardship: if unpaid medical debt from the last 12 months exceeds this percent of household income, debt reduction may be available under Health Safety Net Medical Hardship regardless of income level. This app flags eligibility but does not calculate the exact reduction; contact Health Safety Net.
101 CMR 613.05
150%–300% of the Federal Poverty Level
Hospital-specific policy applies
Health Safety Net - Partial. No flat discount percentage; an annual deductible applies instead, equal to the greater of (a) the lowest Premium Assistance Payment Program premium adjusted for family size, or (b) 40% of the difference between household income and 200% FPL. This app does not calculate the exact deductible; contact Health Safety Net for the figure.
101 CMR 613.04
205%–305% of the Federal Poverty Level
Hardship route: bills above 15% of household income
Medical Hardship threshold for this income band; see the 0-205% FPL row for the full explanation.
101 CMR 613.05
305%–405% of the Federal Poverty Level
Hardship route: bills above 20% of household income
Medical Hardship threshold for this income band; see the 0-205% FPL row for the full explanation.
101 CMR 613.05
405%–605% of the Federal Poverty Level
Hardship route: bills above 30% of household income
Medical Hardship threshold for this income band; see the 0-205% FPL row for the full explanation.
101 CMR 613.05
605% of the Federal Poverty Level and above
Hardship route: bills above 40% of household income
Medical Hardship threshold above 605% FPL; see the 0-205% FPL row for the full explanation.
101 CMR 613.05
What Massachusetts nonprofit hospitals reported to the IRS
Nonprofit hospitals that file IRS Form 990 report their financial assistance policy every year on Schedule H. These are the income limits each one reported in its most recent filing, as a percentage of the Federal Poverty Level. Where Massachusetts law sets a higher limit, the law applies. Policies can change after a filing, so the hospital's current written policy decides.
| Hospital | Free care up to | Discounted care up to | Asset test | Presumptive eligibility | Tax year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anna Jaques HospitalNewburyport | Not stated | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Baystate Franklin Medical CenterGreenfield | 150% | 300% | Not stated | Not stated | 2024 |
| Baystate Medical CenterSpringfield | 150% | 300% | Not stated | Not stated | 2024 |
| Baystate Noble HospitalWestfield | 150% | 300% | Not stated | Not stated | 2024 |
| Baystate Wing HospitalPalmer | 150% | 300% | Not stated | Not stated | 2024 |
| Berkshire Medical CenterPittsfield | 150% | 400% | Not stated | Not stated | 2024 |
| Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital - MiltonMilton | 400% | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital - NeedhamNeedham | Not stated | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital PlymouthPlymouth | Not stated | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Beth Israel Deaconess Medical CenterBoston | Not stated | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Boston Children'S HospitalBoston | 400% | 400% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Boston Medical CenterBoston | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Boston Medical Center-BrightonBrighton | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Brigham and Women Faulkner HospitalJamaica Plain | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Brigham and Women'S HospitalBoston | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Cooley Dickinson Hospital Inc,TheNorthampton | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Emerson Hospital -W Concord | 200% | 400% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Fairview HospitalGreat Barrington | 150% | 400% | Not stated | Not stated | 2024 |
| Holyoke Medical CenterHolyoke | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Lahey Hospital & Medical Center, BurlingtonBurlington | Not stated | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Lowell General HospitalLowell | 200% | 400% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Marlborough HospitalMarlborough | 200% | 600% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Martha'S Vineyard Hospital IncOak Bluffs | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary -Boston | 150% | 300% | Yes | Not stated | 2024 |
| Massachusetts General HospitalBoston | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Melrosewakefield HealthcareMelrose | 150% | 301% | Yes | Not stated | 2024 |
| Mercy Medical CtrSpringfield | 200% | 400% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Merrimack Health Lawrence HospitalLawrence | 300% | 300% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Milford Regional Medical CenterMilford | 200% | 600% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Mount Auburn HospitalCambridge | 400% | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Nantucket Cottage HospitalNantucket | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| New England Baptist HospitalBoston | Not stated | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Newton-Wellesley HospitalNewton | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| North Adams Regional Hospital CorporationNorth Adams | 150% | 400% | Not stated | Not stated | 2024 |
| North Shore Medical Center -Salem | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Saint Anne'S HospitalFall River | 200% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Signature Healthcare Brockton HospitalBrockton | 300% | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Southcoast Hospitals GroupFall River | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| The Shriners' Hospital for Children - BostonBoston | 400% | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2025 |
| Tufts Medical CenterBoston | 150% | 300% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
| Umass Memorial Health - Harrington HospitalSouthbridge | 200% | 600% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Umass Memorial Healthalliance HospitalsLeominster | 200% | 600% | Not stated | Yes | 2024 |
| Winchester HospitalWinchester | 400% | 400% | Yes | Yes | 2024 |
Source: IRS Form 990 Schedule H, Part V, from the IRS e-file data, most recent filing since 2022 for each hospital. "Presumptive eligibility" means the hospital reported deciding eligibility for some patients without an application before starting collection actions. "Not stated" means the filing gave no figure or left the box unchecked.
Massachusetts hospitals covered in detail
49 Massachusetts hospitals with their own page.
- Anna Jaques Hospital, Newburyport
- Baystate Franklin Medical Center, Greenfield
- Baystate Medical Center, Springfield
- Baystate Noble Hospital, Westfield
- Baystate Wing Hospital, Palmer
- Berkshire Medical Center, Pittsfield
- Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital - Milton, Milton
- Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital - Needham, Needham
- Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital Plymouth, Plymouth
- Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston
- Boston Children'S Hospital, Boston
- Boston Medical Center, Boston
- Boston Medical Center - South (formerly Good Samaritan Medical Center), Brockton
- Boston Medical Center-Brighton, Brighton
- Brigham and Women Faulkner Hospital, Jamaica Plain
- Brigham and Women'S Hospital, Boston
- Brown University Health Morton Hospital, Taunton
- Cambridge Health Alliance, Cambridge
- Cooley Dickinson Hospital Inc,The, Northampton
- Emerson Hospital -, W Concord
- Fairview Hospital, Great Barrington
- Holy Family Hospital, Methuen
- Holyoke Medical Center, Holyoke
- Lahey Hospital & Medical Center, Burlington, Burlington
- Lowell General Hospital, Lowell
- Marlborough Hospital, Marlborough
- Martha'S Vineyard Hospital Inc, Oak Bluffs
- Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary -, Boston
- Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
- Melrosewakefield Healthcare, Melrose
- Mercy Medical Ctr, Springfield
- Merrimack Health Lawrence Hospital, Lawrence
- Milford Regional Medical Center, Milford
- Mount Auburn Hospital, Cambridge
- Nantucket Cottage Hospital, Nantucket
- New England Baptist Hospital, Boston
- Newton-Wellesley Hospital, Newton
- North Adams Regional Hospital Corporation, North Adams
- North Shore Medical Center -, Salem
- Northeast Hospital Corporation, Beverly
- Saint Anne'S Hospital, Fall River
- Signature Healthcare Brockton Hospital, Brockton
- Southcoast Hospitals Group, Fall River
- The Shriners' Hospital for Children - Boston, Boston
- Tufts Medical Center, Boston
- Umass Memorial Health - Harrington Hospital, Southbridge
- Umass Memorial Healthalliance Hospitals, Leominster
- Umass Memorial Medical Center/University Campus, Worcester
- Winchester Hospital, Winchester
Every other Massachusetts hospital is in the checker too, including hospitals in Athol, Attleboro, Ayer, Beverly, Boston, Brighton, Brockton, Burlington.
If a Massachusetts hospital does not follow the law
Massachusetts complaints are handled by MassHealth Customer Service (Health Safety Net) / MA Division of Health Care Facility Licensure and Certification. Brightbill will soon prepare that complaint for you, free.
Common questions
Who qualifies for free hospital care in Massachusetts?
Under M.G.L. c.118E §§66-69; 101 CMR 613.04, 613.05, a household with income up to 150% of the Federal Poverty Level qualifies to have the bill written off in full. Using the 2026 federal poverty guidelines, that is about $23,940 a year for a household of one and about $49,500 a year for a household of four.
What if my income is above the free-care limit in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts rules still reach higher incomes. Up to 205% of the Federal Poverty Level: hardship route: bills above 10% of household income. 150%–300% of the Federal Poverty Level: hospital-specific policy applies. 205%–305% of the Federal Poverty Level: hardship route: bills above 15% of household income. 305%–405% of the Federal Poverty Level: hardship route: bills above 20% of household income. The protections run up to 605% of the Federal Poverty Level.
Which Massachusetts hospitals have to offer financial assistance?
Brightbill tracks 62 hospitals in Massachusetts. The Massachusetts rule applies to hospitals in the state, and nonprofit hospitals nationwide must also have a written financial assistance policy to keep their federal tax exemption.
Is the Massachusetts eligibility check free?
Yes. The Brightbill eligibility check is free and anonymous. It needs no account and no sign-in, and never asks for your name, hospital records, bill number or contact details. Coming soon: Brightbill will do it for you, free: the financial assistance application to the hospital and any surprise bill dispute, followed through to the answer. Leave your email after your check and we'll tell you when it opens.
Can I still apply after my Massachusetts bill has gone to collections?
Often yes. Many state charity-care laws let you apply after the bill is issued, and applying can pause collection activity or lead to a refund if you already paid more than the law allows. The exact window is set by M.G.L. c.118E §§66-69; 101 CMR 613.04, 613.05, and MassHealth Customer Service (Health Safety Net) / MA Division of Health Care Facility Licensure and Certification handles complaints when a hospital does not follow it.
Does the No Surprises Act protect me in Massachusetts?
Yes. The federal No Surprises Act applies in every state, including Massachusetts. If you have health insurance, it protects you from surprise out-of-network bills for emergency care, for care from out-of-network doctors at an in-network hospital or surgery center (unless you signed a valid consent for certain non-emergency care), and for air ambulance flights: you owe only your in-network share. If you are uninsured or paying yourself, you can ask for a written Good Faith Estimate before scheduled care, and if the final bill is at least $400 more than that estimate you can dispute it through the federal process within 120 days of the bill. Brightbill's free check covers both charity care and these protections.
Can Brightbill send the letters for me?
Soon. Brightbill's full service opens soon, and it will be free. When it opens: Brightbill applies to the hospital for financial assistance, follows up, reads the reply and checks the decision against the law and the hospital's own policy. For a surprise bill or a bill above your Good Faith Estimate, it walks you through the government dispute form step by step, writes any letter your case needs, sends it with your approval and tracks the deadlines. It sends by email first. If an office only accepts mail, Brightbill mails it at no cost (the application and one follow-up for each provider). For charity care, you check and sign once and Brightbill sends the application, follows up and asks you before any appeal or complaint. For a surprise bill, you approve each letter before it is sent. Letters go from a secure case address, so the reply comes back to you and into your case. The free check stays free and anonymous.
Does Brightbill give legal advice about Massachusetts hospital bills?
No. Brightbill is an eligibility estimate to act on, not legal advice, and it is not affiliated with any hospital. It shows the statute behind every result so you can check it yourself; the hospital's financial assistance office makes the final decision.
Takes about two minutes.
Legal basis: M.G.L. c.118E §§66-69; 101 CMR 613.04, 613.05 requires Massachusetts hospitals to offer charity care and discount payment to eligible patients.
This is an estimate, not legal advice. Each hospital's financial assistance office makes the final decision. Terms · Health Data Privacy Policy.